Handgun Safety Certificate

Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC) is required before registering any handgun in the state of California. A written test is required to obtain a California HSC and the certificate is valid for 5 years. You may obtain a HSC from The Range any time we are open. A study guide for the HSC test is available for free here. The cost of a HSC is $25. Some exemptions apply.

The following qualify for Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC) exempt status:

  • Peace officer (active California)
  • Peace officer (active federal)
  • Peace officer (honorably retired California or federal)
  • Reserve peace officer (as defined in Penal Code Section 832.6)
  • Persons who have successfully completed P.O.S.T. 832 PC firearms training
  • Federally licensed firearm collector who has a DOJ-issued COE who is acquiring a federally-defined curio/relic
  • Person to whom a handgun is being returned, where he/she is the owner of the firearm
  • Carry Concealed Weapon (CCW) Permit Holder
  • Military – active duty
  • Military – honorably retired
  • Military – active reserve
  • Certain particular and limited authority peace officers
  • Persons who hold a DOJ-issued special weapons permit
  • Persons taking possession of firearms pursuant to specific conditions related to operation of law acquisitions
  • Law enforcement service weapon passed to surviving family member